AEU welcomes new education ministers



The Australian Education Union has welcomed Jason Clare as the new federal education minister, Brendan O'Connor to the skills and training portfolio and Anne Aly as early childhood education minister.

"Public education is critically important to deliver Prime Minister Anthony Albanese's vision that no one is held back and no one is left behind," AEU Federal President Coreena Haythorpe said.

"The AEU is looking forward to a strong and collaborative partnership with the incoming ministers on behalf of 198,000 members in preschools, schools and TAFE.

"In public schools, teachers, principals and education support staff work with children from all backgrounds to create a love of learning and share the foundational knowledge required for future life. We expect the new minister to lay out a clear timetable for the new government to fulfil their promise of fair and full funding for public schools and look forward to working together to deliver it.

"In preschools, early childhood teachers and education support personnel work with Australia's youngest minds, setting them on course to thrive. We will advocate and work with the minister to expand universal access to preschool to two years for all Australian children.

"In TAFE, teachers prepare students with the skills and knowledge they need for work and develop the workers our economy needs to rebuild from the pandemic and beyond. We look forward to working with new Minister O'Connor to deliver on Labor's commitments for TAFE.

"Our members work with students at every stage of life and in every corner of our country in public education. In the AEU, the new ministers will find

the knowledge and expertise they need to understand the challenges and the opportunities for public education and for our nation.

"We look forward to a collaborative and productive working relationship with the Albanese Government.

"We sincerely thank the Hon. Tanya Plibersek, the Hon. Richard Marles and the Hon. Amanda Rishworth for their work on behalf of public education and wish them well in their new portfolios."

Authorised by Mary Franklyn, General Secretary, The State School Teachers' Union of W.A.

ABN 54 478 094 635 © 2025