## Call for reconciliation award nominees



Reconciliation in Action

Nominations for the 2021 SSTUWA Reconciliation in Action Award are now open.

The award celebrates the work of our members who are making positive contributions towards reconciliation.

It's given in recognition of an SSTUWA member who is committed to ensuring that all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students have the right to receive a high-quality public education and has shown exemplary practice in education with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students, while working towards the elimination of racism in public education.

The Reconciliation in Action award is open to any individual or group of financial members of the SSTUWA, who have been a member for at least 12 months. Any public school or TAFE college with a project run by SSTUWA financial members is also eligible for the award.

The award is presented for:

- Exemplary practice in education for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students that focuses on promoting cultural competency; and/or
- · Recognition of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples; and/or
- · Working towards the elimination of racism within public education.

This may be in one of the four following ways:

- 1. Through a whole school/TAFE approach.
- 2. Improving the outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students.
- 3. Improving the engagement of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander parents and members of the broader community in school decision-making processes.
- 4. Developing and implementing an innovative product or program relevant to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander education.

The 2020 recipient of the Reconciliation in Action Award was Simon Zuvich.

Nominations forms for the 2021 Reconciliation in Action Award are available at sstuwa.org.au/ATSI

Applications are due by 3.30pm on Friday 15 October.

The recipient for the 2021 Reconciliation in Action Award will be announced at November State Council Conference and will automatically be nominated for the national AEU Arthur Hamilton Award.

Nominations for the Arthur Hamilton Award are also open to any SSTUWA member who has made a contribution to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander education.

For more information contact Simona Zachariassen on (08) 9210 6000 or szachariassen@sstuwa.org.au

Authorised by Mary Franklyn, General Secretary, The State School Teachers' Union of W.A.

ABN 54 478 094 635 © 2025